Unanswered: Duplicate Values

I am unable to save information due to duplicate values. I was wondering how do I allow duplicate values of a form.

Provided Answers: 1
    Read about Primary Keys in the Access help file.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Primary Keys

Thank you for your reply Teddy

Duplicate Values

Teddy or any,

thanks for the information. I was wondering if you had a good example of the use of the primary key for me. I am new to access and appreciate the assistance.

Provided Answers: 1
    Did you read the help file?

It would be greatly in your best interest to take a tutorial right now. Seriously, stop whatever you're doing and take a basic access tutorial. If you don't understand the concept of a primary key, I garauntee you're going to shoot yourself in the foot if you try to develop anything. It's not a bad thing if you don't know, I'm not trying to rip on you, but you NEED to learn about it right now. NOW.

PS: Did I mention you should do this right at this moment?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

I agree with Teddy, you should understand some basic Relational Database ideas before you begin developing a database. But I will give you an example of a primary key.

A primary key is a field or fields in a table that uniquely identifies a row in the table. So for example, if you wanted a table with every American's name and address in it you would need to be able to identify a particular row (or person). An ideal primary key for your table would be the Social Security number. Everyone has a unique number that identifies him or her. If you have two people with the same number then you would have many problems.