Thread: Dumb Questions

Unanswered: Dumb Questions

I am trying to teach myself how to make a database program that will open or create a database file at run time in either sqlexpress or postgresql..

I have never really worked with databases except for basic access stuff so I have very little knowledge of sql or postgresql..

Basically where I am stuck is at the file IO part.. whether the database is on a server or on the users machine the database is contained in a file (or multiple files) correct? I can open a file with connectionstring using ADO.NET and VB2k5expr, but I can't figure out how to create the actual files at run time without having another program do it for me outside of my program (or having microsoft make me one of the wrong type automatically with a click of a button...).. How do I go about actually creating a file at runtime that I can open with connectionstring? Seems like every book I get on it gives a worthless overview of relational databases then jumps straight into the sql code and concepts which dont seem to be what I need since I am still trying to figure out how the data is actually stored in the file itself.. I've only had C programming experience in college manipulating low level data with stdio file IO, and I guess I'm missing how the 'file' itself actually works..

Anyway.. if anyone can can help me out or point me in a direction it would be greatly appreciated. (for example an exercise that would teach me how to create a simple program that creates a 1 table, 1 column database file with the ability to enter data at runtime.. then I think I could jump into the rest of the sql code with ease since I would actually be able to test the stuff I would be reading..)

Thankszzz

I can help you with some of your questions - and I recall having some similar "dumb" questions when I first encountered PostgreSQL.