Talking Unanswered: Bear with me..I'm new

I am wanting to create a query that when run, shows all the homes that are due for inspection on the specified date(that the user inputs)
    So far I have two fields, Property address and NextInspectionDue. In Design view under NextInspectionDue Criteria I typed Like"*" so as to open up a parameter box asking the user to enter the date they want to search. But when it runs, it shows all the addresses, not just the ones on a certain date. I am VERY new to this so what am I doing wrong?
    Last edited by HellNZ; 11-22-05 at 23:54.

Nevada, USA
    Provided Answers: 6
    Try a criteria of

[Enter date]

Richmond, Virginia USA
    Provided Answers: 19
    Your Like "*" tells the query to select ALL dates. Try pbaldy's suggestion.
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

The Bottom of The Barrel
    Provided Answers: 1
    Read up on wildcard characters, your issue is a misunderstanding of what they do.

Also, we may be able to assist you with a better table design depending on what you currently have. Are you actually using property address for the key, or is there more to the query?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Thanks that definitely worked. I have only been learning database for a couple of weeks now( mostly the design stage ERD's, normalization etc..)and haven't actually tried creating a real one. So I'm starting small and don't even know if I have the design correct. The project is to create a database for a relatively small property management company to show the properties, tenants and the clients. So far I have three tables: Properties,Tenants, Client.
    A Client can own more than one property
    A Property can have more than one tenant
    A tenant cannot belong to more than one property
    A Property can only belong to one owner