Unanswered: help with parameters

I am designing a report based on a query. I would like to have a couple of boxes come up and ask for certain data. (ex. Begin Date and End Date). I'm not sure what you call these boxes so I can not find it within "Help". I'm sure this is simple. Can anyone help me
    Thanks,
    Jr.

PS I would also like a box to come up and ask for input on "Month". This will not be used for search critera but used to put the month on the report. I dont want to use the computer clock for this because I will be running the report about a month behind the current date.
    Thanks

Provided Answers: 1
    The easiest method of dealing with multiple parameters is using a "parameter form". It's just a form with a textbox for all the parameters you want to use, then you can reference the values on the form with forms!yourForm!yourControl
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

I am new to Access but I have made several "parameter forms" exactly how Teddy mention above. I don't know if you're new to access or not but if you need step by step instructions on how to do this . . . . . read on.

It looks like you already have the query setup for your report. You can start by creating your parameter form. Create a form that is not bound to any table or query. On the form place two unbound text boxes. One for the Begin Date and one for the End Date. Make sure you name each text box (first field in the "All" tab of the properties box - you'll need to reference this control name in your query).

Then open your query that your report is based on and locate the Begin Date field. In the criteria line enter:

[forms]![yourParameterFormName]![yourBeginDateControlName]

Since the parameter is for a date, you probably want to enter >= in front of the above statement like this:

>=[forms]![yourParameterFormName]![yourBeginDateControlName]