Key problems with tables

Hi, I am new to databases and I'm having some trouble. I've attached a diagram so you can see what I'm talking about:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...o/database.jpg

What I'm trying to do is create a database with employees, their certifications, the organizations the certifications come from, and so on. One employee can have many certifications, one certification can be held by many employees, etc. I've done some searching online and I'm confused - do I need seperate tables to hold these relationships? Don't keys point to tables (i.e. that the empID FK in the certification table points to a number of employees?).

Say I want to start simpler, just employee and certification: name of employee in one and certification name in the other. How can I set up many to many relationships between them, so that I can look up the employee and come up with all the certs held by him?

Thanks,
    James

You're thinking too hard. What does a certification consist of? Well, a title, a governing organization and perhaps a description? What does an employee consist of? An employee id, basic name/contact information and perhaps a title. How do you put those together? EmployeeCertifications, containing a certification id and an employee id.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Well that makes sense, but I believe that I would need an entire table of certifications. Well, maybe not. This is to be backend to an application, and the user needs to select the certification from a dropdown I would be calling from a database, the certification table. So maybe keep an entirely seperate table for all certifications on record, then copy that certification to a field for the employee?