Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    137

    Red face Unanswered: Number of processor used by DB2

    Dear friends,

    How can i check how much db2 (for aix) processors use ?

    Thank's a lot.
    Best regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    DB2 will use all available processors, regardless of the number of processors licensed.

    If you want to know the processor utilization, you should look at AIX tools like vmstat
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    137
    Thank you for your replay.

    But in a db2 log, i see that just one processor is used although my server have 2 processors.

    Do you have any idea.

    Regards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    Quote Originally Posted by ChristopherF
    Thank you for your replay.

    But in a db2 log, i see that just one processor is used although my server have 2 processors.

    Do you have any idea.

    Regards.
    Could you post what it says in the log that is giving you that impression?
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    137
    Hi,

    The db2diag.log says :
    -------------------- ------------------------------
    "SQL8017W the number of processors on this machine exceeds the authorized limit from "1" for product "DB2 Enterprise Server Edition". The number of processors on this machine is "2". You must acquire additional authorizations near your sales engineer IBM or of your approved distributor and update your licence using License Center or of the utility of line of order db2licm. For more information on the update of licences of processor, you defer to the Mise handbook on the way correspondent at your platform. For more information on the utility db2licm, you defer to handbook DB2 Command Reference."
    -------------------------------------- ---------------

    The thing that i don't understand is that ibm product licenses are moral and not per processor like other databases (oracle,...).

    Do you hava any idea.

    Ps : i have DB2 ESE 81.1.58

    Best Regards.

    Thank's a lot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    That is a warning message that you have only set the license for 1 processor and there are 2 processors on the machine.

    This has no effect on the number of processors DB2 uses. Since DB2 dispatches agents to the OS, it has no control of the number of processors used, and all avaialble processors will be used if the OS decides to do that. However, the OS can only use one processor for a given agent.

    DB2 ESE is licensed based on the number of processors. The more the number of processors, the more the cost for ESE. DB2 Workgroup Editions are the same price for 1-4 processors, but charge by the number of connections, or you can get the Workgroup Unlimited for a fixed price.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    137
    Thank you for your replay.

    In my case, i must buy additional license to use two processors ?


    Thank's a lot.
    Regards.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    DB2 will use all the processors on the machine, regardless of the licensing status. In order to be in compliance with the licensing agreement, you would need to pay for the additional processor. I am not sure if it is just another ESE license, or one ESE license for 2 processors.

    The only exception is when you have a standby server in a cluster, running HADR, HACMP, etc, you only need to pay for one CPU on the standby server.

    You might also want to consider Workgroup Server Unlimited Edition
    if you you can live the following restrictions:

    Maximum processors: 4
    Maximum addressable memory: 16GB
    Database Partitioning Feature N/A
    Connection Concentrator N/A
    DB2 Geodetic Extender N/A
    Mainframe Connectivity N/A

    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...tion-wsue.html
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •