Unanswered: Mainframer Starting With UDB; General Advice

Greetings, Everybody!

I am a mainframe systems programmer who supports DB2 on z/OS. I'm just beginning to become familiar with UDB on Unix, and I came here to find the stickies in this forum. I'm going through those now, but I thought also that it would be a good idea to start this thread to ask a few questions regarding my own situation, so as to help me stay better focused in my search for information and learning materials.

I've got a lot of experience with MVS-type operating systems, and I'm familiar with product installations, systems type things, JCL, ISPF, and much more.

I'm familiar with IBM's SMP/E installation methodology, with QMF, the DB2 utilities on the host, and monitoring packages such as Mainview, TMon, CA-Insight, and so forth.

I'm being tasked with supporting a production UDB environment running on OS 5.8 (I think). I believe our production UDB is 8.1, but our development/test machines are all on 7.1 (sounds odd, I know, but as I understand it, the production environment was put up "brand new" halfway into the project).

We already have some very sharp people doing the DBA/"Data Design" and development tasks.

So here are my major goals:

--> I need to get up to speed on Unix. Enough to be able to navigate and get things done, like I can in z/OS and TSO/ISPF. I need to be able to install and maintain UDB and related software. Preferrably without breaking something else!

--> I need to get up to speed on UDB. I need to be able to provide support to the DBA/DA and developers, and I need to be able to research, diagnose, and hunt down problems, properly interface with the IBM Support Center so that I can report defects, apply maintenance to UDB, and act as a liason between our developers and IBM; pretty much what I already do as a systems programmer.

My Questions: