Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Restrict access to tables but not individual records

hi

I am creating a database that will be accessed by many people for checking data. However, I only want them to be able to see their own records without being able to update, delete or create data. Is it possible to do so by creating separate user accounts? Or is there any other way?

btw, I'm still a beginner at this, so it would be much appreciated if any response be stated in simple terms. Thanks alot!

Before replying in detail, can I ask a simple question. How familiar are you with Access security? (.mdw files)

i'm afraid to say....minimal knowledge...perhaps near to nothing.

Provided Answers: 1
    This can be a deceptively complicated question. I can offer one of an array of approaches:

Since many people will be using the database, a split db is probably a viable choice. Actually, there are those that say even a single user database should be split for various reasons.

Compile the front end into an mde. This locks all of the code in the project. If you set up forms for the user to interface with and the data is in a seperate location, you can be reasonably assured that your users will only see the data you have explicitly given them a means to view.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Quote Originally Posted by momo22peach
    I only want them to be able to see their own records without being able to update, delete or create data.
    Hi momo22peach - welcome to the forum
    I have one question - how is data attributed to them if they cannot create or edit records? Or is it attributed to, say, a department and they can access the data based on this?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Quote Originally Posted by Teddy