Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Serial no?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    31

    Red face Unanswered: Serial no?

    I want to make a field as serial no
    that output should like this

    sr model
    Nokia (Group header)

    1 3310 (detail section)
    2 2100
    3 2600

    samsung (Group header)

    1 c100 (detail section)
    2 x100
    3 d500

    I want to reset no with Group header while I know a field RecordNo but its not fit
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    Can you explain better? Not sure about where you want to print the serial number and thing about "reset NO"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for your asking
    I have three fields from dB Product, Model No. and Color
    now I group by on Product I get oupt like this

    -------------
    Nokia(Product)
    --------------
    Model(Field1) Color(Field2)
    3310 Gray
    2600 Whilte

    -------------
    Samsung(Product)
    --------------

    Model(Field1) Color(Field2)
    c100 silver
    c200 Whilte

    here I want to adjust a serial no field. be sure its field not in database now I need output like this

    -------------
    Nokia(Product)
    --------------
    Seril no Model(Field1) Color(Field2)
    1 3310 Gray
    2 2600 Whilte

    -------------
    Samsung(Product)
    --------------

    Serial no Model(Field1) Color(Field2)
    1 c100 silver
    2 c200 Whilte

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    YOu want to display the Serial number but you don't have the serial number field in your database. I'm still not sure what you want to do.
    DO you want to know how to create a report? Or you already have a report but you want to add the serial number.?

    If you just want to add the serial number, just insert the serial field in the detail section.
    Last edited by fredservillon; 12-15-05 at 20:39.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    31

    Unhappy

    Thanks for keeping your interest


    Serial no filed is not in my db , I want actully to show just series of number..wiht sequence .like Record no field we found in crystal report
    here I want to show recodes with series wise

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by wasimshah
    Thanks for keeping your interest


    Serial no filed is not in my db , I want actully to show just series of number..wiht sequence .like Record no field we found in crystal report
    here I want to show recodes with series wise

    thanks
    OK,
    Create a running total and name it maybe "SeriesCount"
    For Field to be summaruized select MODEL from your table
    For Type of summary select COUNT
    For Evaluate select "For Each Record"
    For Reset select the group PRODUCT

    This formula will count the MODELS under the PRODUCT and wll reset to zero when group PRODUCT changes and start counting again.

    Insert this formula (SeriesCount) in details as shown in your diagram( left of Model number)

    It should work.
    Last edited by fredservillon; 12-19-05 at 12:28.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    31

    Cool

    Thank you very much. I got my solution
    Take Care

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •