Unanswered: Transaction log full due to poorly configured SQL Database

Good evening all,

I am new to Microsoft SQL and have been dumped right into the deep end with an anchor around my ankles.

The problem I am experiencing is about 6 months back a guy setup a Microsoft SQL server at my client. He then took his bags and left. Then a developer developed an application which uses a database on this sql server. Everything worked well for around 4 months.

Yesterday IBM Director notified me that I am running dangerously low on disk space on the server. By the time I came in to work this morning I had 12mb free disk space. The evil thing here is the transaction log for the downtime database. It has grown to over 60gb, all because the correct measures were not implemented to prevent this.

The problem that is occuring is no one can do anything on the database now due to the lack of free space. I have tried reading the sql books online but due to my lack of sql experience and knowledge I am stuck.

Can someone please help me? What I would like to do is pull my transaction log down to an acceptable size.

I was thinking of creating a new database and then importing all the data from the current database and then just deleting the current database however am slightly concerned that this may result in some data being lost.

Thanks in advance,

Richard

Try issuing this commands in the SQL Server Query Analyzer...

Code:
    BACKUP LOG database name WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY
    ...and then...

Code:
    DBCC SHRINKFILE (the name of the transaction log, 1)
    The name of the transaction log refers to the actual name of the transaction log of your DB that grew with out the extention name and the number 1 refers to how small you wanted to shink the file in megabytes. Like for example you wanted to shrink the transaction log of the pubs database to 2 MB...

Code:
    DBCC SHRINKFILE (pubs_log, 2)