Question Unanswered: Using Visual Basic code to filter

I'm trying to have a continuous form that allows my users to filter through a large database of names. I'm new to visual basic but need the functionalty that vb has over a macro. The problem occurs when filtering the letters Q and X because no data exists for them yet. I receive an error that states "Control can't be edited its data source has no current record." Then after I try to select another record (besides Q or X) I recieve the same error and have to completely exit out.

I've attached the code.

Please Help!

Code for X (it doesn't work)

If (alphabar = 24) Then
    ' Filter last names that start with X.
    DoCmd.ApplyFilter "", "[tblTrespass]![strLastName] Like ""X*"""
    End If

Code for Z (it works)
    End If
    If (alphabar = 26) Then
    ' Filter last names that start with Z.
    DoCmd.ApplyFilter "", "[tblTrespass]![strLastName] Like ""Z*"""
    End If
    If (alphabar = 27) Then
    ' Show all names.
    DoCmd.ShowAllRecords
    End If

If (RecordsetClone.RecordCount > 0) Then
    ' If records are returned for the selected letter, go to the AlphaBar control.
    DoCmd.GoToControl "alphabar"
    Exit Sub
    End If

If (RecordsetClone.RecordCount = 0) Then
    ' If no records are returned for the selected letter, display a message.
    Beep
    MsgBox "There are no records for that letter.", vbInformation, "No Records Returned"
    ' Show all records.
    DoCmd.ShowAllRecords
    ' Press in the All button.
    alphabar = 27
    End If

alphabar_AfterUpdate_Exit:
    Exit Sub

alphabar_AfterUpdate_Err:
    MsgBox Error$
    Resume alphabar_AfterUpdate_Exit

End Sub

Here is a solution I use to easily scroll to a letter in the alphabet, and you only see letters that are available, so in your case, you would not see 'Q' or 'X'. I use it to scroll a list box to the first name found starting with the letter chosen, but it seems applicable to your filtering problem.