Unanswered: HOW TO LOCK SHIFT+ENTER? and change key

Could someone please share with me how you password protected the SHIFT+ENTER to open DB design views? I am a little new to this so more details would be of great help!

Also, is there a way to assign a different key (ie. instead of the SHIFT) key to open the DB design view?

Thanks!
    Last edited by lcesung; 12-29-05 at 01:01.

Provided Answers: 59
    So 4 minutes after posting on this thread you though you'd start a new thread.

What ever came or patience?

Talking

Hee Hee, are you able to help me?

Thanks!!!

Disable Shift Key

If you don't want to make an mde file (which would not allow the user to see any code), you can try the following (based on a button called: bDisableBypassKey):

Private Sub bDisableBypassKey_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_bDisableBypassKey_Click
    'This ensures the user is the programmer needing to disable the Bypass Key
    Dim strInput As String
    Dim strMsg As String
    Beep
    'strMsg = "Do you want to enable the Bypass Key?" & vbCrLf & vbLf & _
    '"Please key the programmer's password to enable the Bypass Key."
    'strInput = InputBox(Prompt:=strMsg, Title:="Disable Bypass Key Password")
    Dim QI As Integer
    QI = MsgBox("Do you want to disable the shift key?", vbYesNo)
    If QI = 7 Then
    'If strInput = "pk" Then
    SetProperties "AllowBypassKey", dbBoolean, True
    Beep
    MsgBox "The Bypass Key has been enabled." & vbCrLf & vbLf & _
    "The Shift key will allow the users to bypass the startup options the next time the database is opened.", _
    vbInformation, "Set Startup Properties"
    Else
    Beep
    SetProperties "AllowBypassKey", dbBoolean, False
    MsgBox "Incorrect ''AllowBypassKey'' Password!" & vbCrLf & vbLf & _
    "The Bypass Key was disabled." & vbCrLf & vbLf & _
    "The Shift key will NOT allow the users to bypass the startup options the next time the database is opened.", _
    vbCritical, "Invalid Password"
    Exit Sub
    End If