Question Unanswered: SQL 2000 possible to initiate database transfer?

Hi guys,

I am new to SQL Server 2000 and like to enquire the following.

Scenario:
    this current website is hosted by A but now taken over by B.
    B was given SQL server username and password and was instructed to download the database directly from A based on the username n pw given.

So my qns is:
    Is it possible to initiate data transfer from one server situated at locationA to another server at locationB that doesnt belong to the same domain? If can, by which ways? Using the DTS method? Or there are some settings to be configure at ODBC in order to initiate the data transfer?

Any experts out there?

Provided Answers: 6
    just do a backup from the original site. create a placeholder database on at the destination and use the REPLACE argument of the RESTORE command.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

hey Thrasymachus, thanks. but i was wondering if there's any way to do it thru DTS method?

there is and it is called the copy database wizard and it is a POS and there are many issues you will encounter. the first of which is everyone has to be out of the database, and then there are issues with mapping the security accounts etc..