How to Write a Quote/Estimate

I am new to database design and in some ways may not even have any business making databases, but I am giving it a go and have a potential client who wants an estimate for a job.

Is there a format/template that anyone could recommend for making a quote or estimate for a job. The bottom line will probably be around $25K, so its not a small job and I want to make a thorough estimate.

Briefly, the job is a language school in Europe that needs a database to track its student body data, from application and matriculation, to tuition payment, housing details and finally to departure.

Any advice is much appreciated.

I usually don't include much about the technical details of a solution in my quotes. For example, I will not outline things such as table names, functions etc. I generally break things down as such:

Basic project requirement outline
    Plain-english description of the proposed solution
    Logistics and schedule for receipt of deliverables
    Project Breakdown
    • Initial Planning/Requirements Generation - This is the money part. All of the following are listed in hours
    • Project-specific planning steps go here. If there's specfic meetings or extensive commuting required, this is where you track those hours. I usually go something like "Acquire overview of project and specific requirements" and "Additiona/misc refinement of project criteria". You'll need some slush room here, everytime.
    • Back End Design/Development - Fairly self explanatory. This is where you detail how many hours or percentage of resources will be thrown at developing the actual back end as well as testing your datamodel.
    • Client Front End Design/Development - Again, fairly self explanatory. I usually include a few hours for gathering process information and focus groups in here. Development of application flow would go in here. Of course the actual development itself and testing as well.