Unanswered: Is Oracle the right choice for my business?

I am quite new to the database world, although I have taken several courses in database design and implementation with Access (enough to feel that Access is not what I am looking for!). I was hoping for some advice on this forum about which direction to go for developing a database system for my company. Our ultimate goal would be to link everything from start to finish together through a database system.

Here is some information about our data.

- # parts in database ~20k items
    - # customer's in customer database~15k
    - # Invoices per year is ~3k
    - # Price Quotes per year ~3k

Based on this information, what applications/data access languages/server software would be sufficient? Initially we were were thinking about using Oracle as part of our system, but I'm not sure if there is a better option? It would be helpful to have some direction as we begin the interview process for a person to develop and manage our future system.

Thanks for any opinions - I realize the question is quite broad.

Greenville, SC (USA)
    Alot depends on how the data is accessed and how many users are going to be working with the data. Do you plan on also integrating payroll or other financials with them. How about shipping/receiving, etc. What type of application (ie, Web based ?).

While the numbers you gave are not that large, SQLServer could handle them nicely. Depending on the type of access and where you want to go in the future, you might want to consider Oracle.

Green Bay
    I have and currentally do work with
    MS Sqlserver
    With a large corporation.

I have found Sql Server to be the easiest of the 3 to implement
    Oracle to be the most robust (terabytes of data)
    DB2 to be well DB2

Sql server can be implented with the MS suite easily (Access, Excel)
    Can be accessed through Web based .NET.
    I not easily implemented with the Oracle Suite of tools.