Unanswered: Set delete rule in Access 2000

Hi there,

I am a programmer and I am using Access 2000 as database. In my database I have lots of tables, with many Indices and relations. I need help in setting the relations in Access 2000 (Actually I am creating the DB by VB Code. I want to be able to create it in Access 2000 without any coding).

I have a Table called Advertisments and a Table called Students. When a Student is registering to the school, he tells about how he had heared about the school (ist a private school which is doing advertising on the internet, on newspapers etc.). So there is a One-To-Many relation between this two tables (One advertisment can be set to many students).

But when I delete an Advertisment from the Adverts table, the student is also deleted. But I don't want to delete the student; instead i want to set the AdvertID field of the student table be set to null.

With ADO I can use the DeleteRule property and set it to adriSetToNull. BUT HOW CAN I SET THIS DIRECTLY IN ACCESS 2000, WITHOUT THE USE OF ANY PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE AND WITHOUT USING SQL?

I just want to open the adverts table in Access 2000 and when I delete a record in this table, no students should be removed. Just the AdvertID of the students should set to NULL. As I said, I am able to do it in VB using ADO. I want to do it in Access 2000. It isn't enough to create the relation between the tables. I have to set the property, but I don't know how?

Thanx for your help,
    Bye...

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by koraykazgan
    With ADO I can use the DeleteRule property and set it to adriSetToNull. BUT HOW CAN I SET THIS DIRECTLY IN ACCESS 2000, WITHOUT THE USE OF ANY PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE AND WITHOUT USING SQL?
    Short answer: You can't.

You COULD alter your schema to include another table relating the two tables together. This would be a poor schema from a best-practice scenario but would provide the functionality you're looking for.