Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    494

    Unanswered: Need ASP/Javascript to write URL

    I have set an alert. It says:
    Code:
    http://127.0.0.1/showversea.asp?id=15418&keyword=brutish
    But when the iFrame opens it writes only this in the URL.

    Code:
     
    
    http://127.0.0.1/wheelofgod/showversea.asp?id=15418
    The second URL shows what the select name "id" is picking up "15418" from the option value. But it fails to pick up the "keyword" <%=Keyword%>. The page of dropdown is ASP-generated, in other words the ASP builds the dropdown from the result of the database table. Here is the section of the source:
    Code:
    	<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    	<!--
    	function go1(identity,keyword)
            {
    document.forms['bookSelect'].action = 'showversea.asp?id=' + identity + '&keyword='  + keyword 
                   alert(bookSelect.action);
              bookSelect.submit();
            }
    	//-->
    	</script>
    And
    Code:
    		
    <form name="bookSelect" action="showversea.asp" method="get" target="ifrVerse">
    <select name="id" size="10" style="width:200;" onchange="go1(document.forms['bookSelect'].id[document.forms['bookSelect'].id.selectedIndex].value,'brutish');">
    
    
    			
    				<option  value="14659">Psalms&nbsp;49:10</option>
    				
    				<option  value="15418">Psalms&nbsp;92:6</option>
    				
    				<option  value="15440">Psalms&nbsp;94:8</option>
    				
    				<option  value="16721">Proverbs&nbsp;12:1</option>
    				
    				<option  value="17254">Proverbs&nbsp;30:2</option>
    				
    				<option  value="18016">Isaiah&nbsp;19:11</option>
    				
    				<option  value="19210">Jeremiah&nbsp;10:8</option>
    
    				
    				<option  value="19216">Jeremiah&nbsp;10:14</option>
    				
    				<option  value="19223">Jeremiah&nbsp;10:21</option>
    				
    				<option  value="20230">Jeremiah&nbsp;51:17</option>
    				
    				<option  value="20976">Ezekiel&nbsp;21:31</option>
    				
    		</select>
    Compare bible texts (and other tools):
    TheWheelofGod

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    You don't have another function somewhere over riding the action do you??

    Are you using the right action? I can never remember if post or get is the right one to use when you are doing this....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    494
    I just want to give an update if anyone is following this thread. I found the answer:

    Code:
    function go1(identity,keyword)
            {
    url = 'showversea.asp?id=' + identity + '&keyword='  + keyword 
                   //alert(bookSelect.action);
              //bookSelect.submit();
    		  alert(url);
    		ifrVerse.location = url;
            }
    	//-->
    The problem was this:
    I have set an alert. It said:
    Code:
    http://127.0.0.1/showversea.asp?id=15418&keyword=brutish
    But when the iFrame opens it writes only this in the URL.

    Code:
     
    
    http://127.0.0.1/wheelofgod/showversea.asp?id=15418
    The second URL shows what the select name "id" is picking up "15418" from the option value. But it fails to pick up the "keyword" <%=Keyword%>. The page of dropdown is ASP-generated, in other words the ASP builds the dropdown from the result of the database table. Here is the section of the source:
    Code:
    	<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    	<!--
    	function go1(identity,keyword)
            {
    document.forms['bookSelect'].action = 'showversea.asp?id=' + identity + '&keyword='  + keyword 
                   alert(bookSelect.action);
              bookSelect.submit();
            }
    	//-->
    	</script>
    And
    Code:
    		
    <form name="bookSelect" action="showversea.asp" method="get" target="ifrVerse">
    <select name="id" size="10" style="width:200;" onchange="go1(document.forms['bookSelect'].id[document.forms['bookSelect'].id.selectedIndex].value,'brutish');">
    
    
    			
    				<option  value="14659">Psalms&nbsp;49:10</option>
    				
    				<option  value="15418">Psalms&nbsp;92:6</option>
    				
    				<option  value="15440">Psalms&nbsp;94:8</option>
    				
    				
    		</select>
    To check it out use Internet Explorer:
    http://i.domaindlx.com/wheelofgod/kj...s&optAction=on

    I need to put that in the JavaScript with the '+' such as 'the cat ate the dog' as 'the+cat+ate+the+dog':

    Code:
    <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    	<!--
    function go1(identity,keyword)
            {
    url = 'showversea.asp?id=' + identity + '&keyword='  + keyword 
                   //alert(bookSelect.action);
              //bookSelect.submit();
    		  alert(url);
    		ifrVerse.location = url;
            }
    
    function go2(identity,keyword)
            {
    url = 'showversea.asp?id=' + identity + '&keyword='  + keyword 
                   //alert(bookSelect2.action);
              //bookSelect2.submit();
    		  alert(url);
    		ifrVerse2.location = url;
            }
    	//-->
    	</script>
    Code:
    <select name="id" size="10" style="width:200;" onchange="go1(document.forms['bookSelect'].id[document.forms['bookSelect'].id.selectedIndex].value,'<%=Keyword%>');">
    Compare bible texts (and other tools):
    TheWheelofGod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    You have changed your method of sending your data as well....

    You are just setting a location and not using the submit (so request.querystring will work but request.form will not)

    I suspect your real problem was that the method of your form is get not post... eg
    Code:
    <form name="bookSelect" action="showversea.asp" method="get" target="ifrVerse">
    Code:
    <form name="bookSelect" action="showversea.asp" method="post" target="ifrVerse">

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    494
    How is this related to post or get?
    Compare bible texts (and other tools):
    TheWheelofGod

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Actually,... maybe it's not,.. I can't remember, it has been ages... but...

    One works on query strings, the other work on the form contents.

    When you are working on the query strings I think it rebuilds the querystring when you submit. If you are using the other version you can effectively use both the querystring and the form contents....

    With your problem you may have had a situation where you were changing the action, submitting and during the submit it was change the the url as well....

    The javascript you were using looked right,.... *shrug* all academic anyways as you have your solution working

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •