Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: Next record on same / detail line

    Hi,
    I need to display a field OrderNum as follows

    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum

    Basically, each OrderNum is a new record. I can put OrderNum on a
    detail line to get first row of OrderNum but how can I get second
    row of OrderNum on the same line since the information is comming from the
    one field.
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.

    Please help in solving this problem. Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by naveedkhokhar
    Hi,
    I need to display a field OrderNum as follows

    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum

    Basically, each OrderNum is a new record. I can put OrderNum on a
    detail line to get first row of OrderNum but how can I get second
    row of OrderNum on the same line since the information is comming from the
    one field.
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.

    Please help in solving this problem. Thanks!!
    Code:
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.
    This one is little bit confusing..
    What database or source you pull this ordernumber from. Is there a reason why you have more than one ordernumbers in one field, or this is just a command separated text file?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by naveedkhokhar
    Hi,
    I need to display a field OrderNum as follows

    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum

    Basically, each OrderNum is a new record. I can put OrderNum on a
    detail line to get first row of OrderNum but how can I get second
    row of OrderNum on the same line since the information is comming from the
    one field.
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.

    Please help in solving this problem. Thanks!!
    Code:
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.
    This one is little bit confusing..
    What database or source you pull this ordernumber from. Is there a reason why you have more than one ordernumbers in one field, or this is just a command separated text file?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by naveedkhokhar
    Hi,
    I need to display a field OrderNum as follows

    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum
    OrderNum OrderNum

    Basically, each OrderNum is a new record. I can put OrderNum on a
    detail line to get first row of OrderNum but how can I get second
    row of OrderNum on the same line since the information is comming from the
    one field.
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.

    Please help in solving this problem. Thanks!!
    Code:
    The OrderNum should go from top to bottam upto 13 records and then
    jump to second line. Once the second line is also filled then start a new page.
    This one is little bit confusing..
    What database or source you pull this ordernumber from. Is there a reason why you have more than one ordernumbers in one field, or this is just a command separated text file?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Hi,
    I am using SQL Server 2000. the data is comming from one field. Each order number is a new record in a table. The table stucture is as follows.

    DtReceived datetime 8
    DtDue datetime 8
    OrderNum char 5

    The field OrderNumber holds only one OrderNumber. For example

    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '12345'
    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '12547'
    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '18745'
    01/17/2006 01/23/2006 '22547'

    Thanks for replying.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by naveedkhokhar
    Hi,
    I am using SQL Server 2000. the data is comming from one field. Each order number is a new record in a table. The table stucture is as follows.

    DtReceived datetime 8
    DtDue datetime 8
    OrderNum char 5

    The field OrderNumber holds only one OrderNumber. For example

    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '12345'
    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '12547'
    01/16/2006 01/22/2006 '18745'
    01/17/2006 01/23/2006 '22547'

    Thanks for replying.
    I don't know what's happening, either my work place network system or this forum, but I'm having difficulty opening pages here. Anyway, I would like to tackle your problem by doing example.(That's how I normally do. I don't say here unless I have proven it because I don't want to waste people's time).
    Being too busy and not being able to log in this forum makes it more difficult to reach people here. Anyway as of now, I can only think of one thing that will work but it's not going to be 13 data across one line but 3. And that's by using previous{fieldName} + " " + {fieldName) + " " + next{fieldName}.
    If you can do a routine ahead of me by dumping field data into a variable array of 13 items to display across a line and reset after 13. You can try that and I will get back here whenever I can get to it. Right now I'm in process of moving into another department as a programmer analyst.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    27
    I don't know if this will solve your problem, but here's instructions I gave someone trying to make thumbnails tile/details section tile...I put these directions together using Crystal XI. In case that's relevent.

    Click on "Section Expert".

    On the left, make sure "details" is highlighted.

    On the right, Check the box that says "format with multiple
    columns". This will cause a tab to appear on the top, called Layout.
    Check the Layout tab.

    Specify the width of the columns, and hit ok.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by domini
    I don't know if this will solve your problem, but here's instructions I gave someone trying to make thumbnails tile/details section tile...I put these directions together using Crystal XI. In case that's relevent.
    Hi,
    Thanks for the tip. It worked. Now the only thing left is that the report
    should have 2 colomns in detail line (which I got) and each colmn should show 13 records per column only (Down then Across) ie total 26 records on a page. Then start a new page. I accomplished new page by using a formula "Remainder ({@ctr},26) = 0" in detail line under "New Page After" But could not figure out how to force records run Down then Across and have
    26 records in on a page. Selecting (Down then Across) option shows 26 records in first column and then new page starts.

    Any suggestions?

    Naveed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •