Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14

    Unanswered: ADODB.Command error '800a0d5d'

    hello,
    am not sure where to post this, either in ASP or MS SQL, the error below tends to show up from time to time when trying to run a script.

    line 86 below is where my script calls a stored proceedure.

    funny enough this error does not show up always

    pls advice
    Afrika

    Code:
    ADODB.Command error '800a0d5d' 
    
    Application uses a value of the wrong type for the current operation. 
    
    /welcome/welcome/messages/sendsms.asp, line 86
    line 86 >> set cmdSms = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Command")

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Um,... are you sure that is where the error is actually occuring??

    I would wrap a pile of debugging around that line, write to a log file or something, because I can't see how that line would work one time and not the other, it's not like you have any variables involved or anything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by rokslide
    Um,... are you sure that is where the error is actually occuring??

    I would wrap a pile of debugging around that line, write to a log file or something, because I can't see how that line would work one time and not the other, it's not like you have any variables involved or anything.
    thanks for your reply.

    Please explain how you would debug in "asp"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    119
    you can write output to the screen

    response.write "section A<br>"
    make the DB connsection
    response.write "section b<br>"
    Select a recordset
    response.write "section c<br>"
    run stored procedure
    response.write "section d<br>"

    thats one way of doing it.....
    .
    .
    http://www.HawaiianHope.org
    Providing Technology services to non profit orgs, Homeless Shelters, Food Pantries, Clean And Sober Houses and more.
    To date we have given away over 900 free computers !
    __________________________
    caeli enarrant gloriam Dei !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    yup, that would be my suggestion as well...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    14
    Sorry this is late,
    thanks I added an error handling function. after the on error resume next to catch the error

    however the problem was a bit complex. i was using varchar(15) to save 11 characters, but when its passed in the asp page, the server.encode function would translate it to much more than 15 characters.

    I have solved it now, i just increased the database values

    thanks all
    Afrika

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •