Unanswered: MS Access front-end to SQL back-end db

Hi, I'm pretty new to all this and need some serious guidance. I'm in the
    process of converting a Microsoft Access database to work with a SQL
    database. The SQL database has already been created and I can create new
    and modify records through the Access front-end but when I go to delete and
    rename I get an error 'it didn't add 1 records to the table due to key
    violations'. This, I'm assuming, is because I need to do cascade updates??
    I don't know how to go about this. I didn't design either the Access
    database nor the SQL database. It's quite a small database with only 26
    tables, 8 of these are the only ones used per transaction and the rest are
    never edited through the Access front-end. I was to just change the queries
    and forms to point to the linked SQL tables instead of the previous Access
    tables. At the moment the code is deleting / renaming records from each
    table in separate consecutive statements. Is there any code I can use that
    can do this all at once and avoid the key violation errors or what would be
    the best way to accomplish this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Provided Answers: 1
    You need to find out what kind of key restraints are placed on the backend. It could be as simple as lack of primary keys. ADO in particular gets pissy if you try to alter a record in a table that does not have a primary key defined. The other thing to check is foreign key restraints between tables. You could be breaking the relational structure of the database inadvertantly.

Also, have a look at access data projects (.adp), they make life easy when dealing with MSSQL through Access
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Teddy comes from the Disconnected World.