Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Italic Function

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    97

    Unanswered: Italic Function

    I know this is a little silly but.....

    I'm looking to create a function that when used in a text box will take the string text that was passed to it and make it italic. Something like....

    ="This text normal " & [fld1] & fncItalicText('This text is italic')

    The rationale is that when creating some dynamic textboxes it would be nice to selectively edit some of the text and not the whole text box.


    Any ideas for a start....or better anybody have a function like this?

    Thanks
    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Mmmmmmmm, richtext.

    How badly do you want to do this?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    97

    How badly..

    Yeah, I keep asking myself that same question.

    It's one of those...well...it'd be nice so I'lll work on it in my free time projects.

    That's how badly.

    -C

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Basically you need to track down a rich text control. Access just wont do this natively.

    Here's a couple links from this forum:

    clicky1
    clicky2
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    97

    ewwww....

    Probably not that badly!

    ;-)

    We'll see...I might get ambitious!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    154

    Angry Excuse my irritation but...

    I was looking into this sort of things several weeks ago and found that they disabled the automatic functioning of the RichText box in Access 2002 and above because they say that the control does not allow for checking of what is inputed into it--possibly inviting SQL injection, I suppose. One wonders if they can put the question as to why it doesn't work into the knowledge base and answer it then why wouldn't they update the control so it is considered safe? I know that a big company has many concerns but listening to the users more often would sometimes be nice. Excuse my rant, I actually use Access a great deal and like it but stupid little things like that urk me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •