Question Unanswered: Performance and Documentation

First of all we are using IBM DB2 7.1 on a MVS Mainframe.
    I am an application developer with a group of DBA's supporting us. They do code reviews and normally tell us we are doing a 4 table (or 6 table) join , exceeds their cost threshhold, and need to break it down to improve performance (most of these joins run in less than 1 CPU minute). They also tell us efficient code will make the system perform better. I have beem writing DB2 code for ove 10 years, know all about perforance, looking at DB2 plan tables and such and have always read and understand, it is better to get all the data you can at one time, instead of seperate reads. I also tell them that the way to improve performance is to do runstats (in produciton this is fine, it is required before they reorg, in development regions --no) and to do rebinds of the produciton plans. They say no. I am looking for soft copies of documentation that specifically address performace issues on a IBM MVS mainframe DB2 that address table joins and other performance issues (like rebinding and rebinding frequencies) so I can quit knocking my head against a wall. I would ask a second question about when and if other companies rebind development regions, but this is not my primary question for today. Thanks in advance.

There are lots of different opinions on these subjects, so I don't think you will find a definitive answer. Just because advice is published, does not make it correct. I see lots of published advice that I personally think is incorrect. Even if you get advice from an IBM person who works at the DB2 development lab, remember that almost every one of them is a product developer (who writes very low level code) and almost none of them are DBA’s, nor have they ever been DBA's.