Question Unanswered: never seen a query like this before

I "inherited" a system that uses VB6 as a frontend to a MSSQL7 database. I am fairly new to MSSQL and would like an explaination of what the following couple lines do (from a stored procedure).

Code:
    insert into Section select top 1000 * from SectionFlash where IsCut = 1

delete SectionFlash from (
        select top 1000 * from SectionFlash where IsCut = 1) as t1
        where SectionFlash.SectionKey = t1.SectionKey
    The code works on two tables Section and SectionFlash. I know "insert" statement moves data from the SectionFlash table to the Section table. The statement I don't really understand is the "delete" statement, I've never seen one that looked like that before. It is supposede to delete the records that have been moved using the "insert" statement.

Anybody have any ideas???

Provided Answers: 11
    Wow....

I...Wow...

How have you not lost data, yet?

You are right about your predecessors logic. He is putting 1000 rows into section, and deleting them from sectionflash. It's the equivalent of moving the rows. The problem is, when you use TOP with no order by, you get the first however many rows SQL Server has handiest. When you get into merry-go-round scans, then you see major problems with this sort of thing. I am not sure if SQL 7.0 introduced merry-go-round scans or not.

I gotta wonder why he felt he had to stop at 1000 rows, too. It smacks of test code.

We are tracking down problems and we have it pretty much narrowed down to this procedure. Whether or not we are loosing data is a good question, from our best guess the system has been running like this for years and noone has noticed anything. Probably because it's always been loosing data so noone saw a difference.