Question Unanswered: database of field trips from a daycare (was "Help with building a query")

I am working on a database design and since I'm new to SQL, I want to test the feasibility of the design before I commit to it. That is, I want to make sure that it is possible to build a single (and thus, fast) query to look up the data I need. The database is for a control system with lots of boring details so I'll adapt the problem and present a simple equivalent example. I'd appreciate any help with this.

Let's say I have a database of field trips from a daycare. Every time the kids are taken out on a field trip, an entry is made in a simple table with two fields: Field Trip Configuration ID (FTC ID) and attending Student ID. For each student attending the trip there will be an entry with the appropriate FTC ID (not to be confused with the Federal Trade Commission Identification number! ) Depending on which kids are going to the trip, a banner, which will be displayed at the front of the bus, is created or reused, provided one had already been made. The FTC ID tells the teacher which banner to use. Before each trip, the teacher looks up the database by entering the set of Student IDs and if an existing configuration matches, it is shown to the teacher so they know to go get the banner with that ID. If there is no match, a new FTC ID is generated, and the teacher goes and makes a new banner with that ID.

The above design probably seems horrendous to most of you. The trouble is in my actual structure - "students" are control and acquisition channels, and there can be many of them, with lots of possible configurations (test-sessions). The size of the database can get pretty large, so I think I'm stuck with such design. Nonetheless, I'd entertain suggestions for alternatives, as long as they don't violate the requirements of my project.