Unanswered: Recommendation Requests: Learning MS SQL Server for Sybase DBAs

Hello,

I have been working as Sybase DBA for 5+ years, and I would very much like to add MS SQL Server to my resume. Given the common roots of the two RDBMS, it seems that the learning curve would not be as sharp as if I were going to learn Oracle or DB2. Can anyone out there know of any books that are geared toward learning MS SQL Server from a Sybase DBAs perspective?

Thank you,

- Chris Merz

Provided Answers: 54
    Assuming you've got a good understanding of Sybase, and want to take the "rocket sled" approach to getting into Microsoft SQL, I'd recommend Kalen Delaney's Inside Microsoft SQL Server 2000, but it is NOT for the faint of heart!

A slightly more civilized approach, would be Ken Henderson's The Guru's Guide to Transact-SQL. This takes a bit smaller bite in that it focuses on the programming side only, not on theory or administration, but it gets the job done and isn't nearly as overwhelming.

A good "split the difference" between those two would be Richard Waymire's Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server 2000 in 21 Days. This book covers almost everything you need to get started (and then some), and does it at a tolerable pace for most technical users. It gives you a good "middle ground" between the other two, and enough background for 98% of what you're likely to need for most SQL implementations.

If none of these suit you, give me some feedback on why they don't and I'll try to give you another suggestion.

-PatP

Thanks, Pat. I will certainly check out your recommendations, and I'll post my experiences back in this thread. I have been focusing more on administration than development over the past couple of years, so I will probably begin with the Delaney book.

select * from users where heart_attrib like "%faint%" and userid = "zremdog"
    go

(0 rows returned )

:-D

Thanks again for your input.

-Chris

Provided Answers: 6