Which Database is best for...?

I've been developing web applications for a while and have been using coldfusion and access or mysql. I'm about to undertake a project that could could have tens of thousands of users accessing it. It will all be dynamic content.

This project will be developed in php(I'm a bit new to this).
    What database is best for this? (Out of all of them, but I like free ones personaly)

PostgreSQL is open-source (free) and is certainly able to handle the kind of scale you are talking about. It is consistently well-reviewed and has a very active user/developer base. See their website. Also, there was recently an interview with a fellow who runs a web music site - he advocated using PostgreSQL with Ruby on Rails (rather than PHP). There has been an interesting discussion of developments in PHP on the PostgreSQL general mailing list.

There are several constraints, in no order

1) what do the ISP's you are considering using have, support and reccommend. There is little point in designing an app and finding that you preferred or selected ISP isn't familiar with it. They have a resposnsibility to tie te db down to make sure that your data is secure. Granted you may take the view trhat you will develop first and then find an ISP whihc matches those requirements.

2) what are you familiar with. personally I think its a fairly arbitary factor, after all SQL, is SQL, (accepting that there are diffferences in implementation. Access (strictly speaking JET) wouldn't be my choice for a web site, but I suspect that may be prejudice. I have yet to see any defintivie figures that suggest JET is innappropriate for use as a web db, but I'd suspect it would keel over wth medium to heavy use. The choice of server db could be any of the server products, although if you are on a budget then POSTGRES or MySQL are both candidates.