Thread: help

Unanswered: help

hi all...im new to working on databases....and im trying to make one for my company to help with the running ov it...

a few years ago i got sent a demo ov a database that i think with a little work could do the trick..

ive tryed to get in contact with the firm that was making the program but there no longer running..

well to get to the point i cant do anyting with the demo ive got as got no permision to get into it...

is there any way i can get into to try to modify it to geting working for me

thanx danny

You could try this: Create a new blank DB and import everything over from the demo DB ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

help

Quote Originally Posted by M Owen
    You could try this: Create a new blank DB and import everything over from the demo DB ...

ive tryed that but it wont let me move all ov it over

Red face

Hi Danny

First of all, I assume you found out it's an Access db since you questioned this forum. If the extension of your db is MDE, I'll think your in deep shit as an MDE db cant be modified. However, tables and query in the MDE can be imported into a new db. You then need to reconstruct the functions in the application.

sincerely Vestigo

Quote Originally Posted by vestigo
    Hi Danny

First of all, I assume you found out it's an Access db since you questioned this forum. If the extension of your db is MDE, I'll think your in deep shit as an MDE db cant be modified. However, tables and query in the MDE can be imported into a new db. You then need to reconstruct the functions in the application.

sincerely Vestigo
    yep is a access db....as i said im verry new to working with databases so if the demo copy is not able to be changed i am in deep shit as i would not have a clue where to start

Quote Originally Posted by goonerdan
    ive tryed that but it wont let me move all ov it over