Unanswered: starting the listener on Novell

Hi guys,

I searched for this, but didn't find anything in the first few pages. Maybe I'm blind. Saw a lot of references to "listener is already started" and the like, but no directions on how to start it, or links to directions.

How do you start the listener on a Novell network? I'm a Novell newbie, so if you go slow and step by step that would be totally awesome.

Thank you in advanced! I'm sure it's simple, I just don't know how to do it. Did a google search, and it covers it for NT and 2000 and Windows networks, but not Novell.

Cool

You could try:

Start>Control Panel>Network Connections>
    Select connection Properties>Install>Protocol
    Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
    If this protocol is enabled, then all ok.

PS: Configure the listener.ora file accordingly. You start listener from:
    Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

Do you mean Novell Netware?

Here's the link for Net8 Admin Guide for NetWare.

http://download-east.oracle.com/docs/pdf/A83764_01.pdf

Good luck.

LKBrwn_DBA--does this work for systems using Novell Netware? I've seen these instructions for windows networks.

Red Dog--thanks for the link, but it's not working. Looks like you need to be logged into Oracle Support to get at it?

Ack, duped my post.

Okay, I seem to have found it...

At the command prompt (be it a Novell Netware machine, Windows, etc.) you type in LSNRCTL . That'll put you into a LSNRCTL prompt, from which you can start listener, stop listener, etc.

Simple, obviously. Just have to know what it is I guess.

Thanks for everyone's help!
    Last edited by domini; 03-01-06 at 17:30.

Cool

Starting the listener from the command prompt is tha same as starting listener from: Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services.