Unanswered: Data modeling question

Hello,

I am looking for help to model the following situation as I am new to data modeling and I am in over my head.

I have a lot table (lotID, quantity, attributes)

Lots which are not treated are then shipped and sold as lots.

Treated lots are given a new identity called a slot. There are 3 possibilities:
    1. A lot may be given a treatment and then it has a single unique slotID
    2. Multiple lots may be combined, given the same treatment, and then these lots all have the same single slotID.
    3. A lot may be split (quanity wise) into multiple slots each slot having its own uniqueID.

This results in 2 tables:
    Slot (slotID, quantity, attributes) and a Lot-Slot (LotSlotID, slotRef, LotRef).

So if lotIDs 1 and 2 are combined into slotID 1, that would result in entries in the Lot-Slot table as (1, 1, 1) and (2, 1, 2).

If lotID 3 is to be split into 2 sublots then Lot-Slot would have (3, 2, 3) and (4, 3, 3)

Now slots may also be treated, combined and/or split into new slots so I have a Slot-Slot table to track this (SlotSlotID, OrigSlotRef, NewSlotRef).

Now, my cucustomer is able to ship and sell slots. However, when shipping or selling these slots, he may ship part of a slot and/or sell part of a slot since each slot has a quantity.

So if slotID4 has a quantity of 500, he may ship 100 to Italy, 50 to HongKong and so on. He may then sell 20 of the slots from Hong Kong and 40 of the slots in Italy to one customer since he always sells from a location. The slotID 4 must be preserved in all of these transactions and be available until either all slots in it are sold or until slotID4 gets combined or split into new slot numbers.

I was thinking that the Slot table should then have the following fields: OriginalQuantity, QuantityAvailToShip, QuantityAvailToSell.

Then I have separate tables to track the selling and shipping of the lots and slots.