Unanswered: Self-Signed certificate

Can anybody can tell me how to do self-signed certificate on sql server? What is it ? Do we really need?
    Many thanks.

Provided Answers: 54
    What kind of certificate are you asking about? A code certificate, an SSL certificate, or something different?

-PatP

I just knew this is self-sign certification. Our web server has a SSL. My supervisor want me to write code for the security of the connection from web server to sql server. Later he told me that we need self-sign certifcaiton. I am a programmer, i believe need a code certification. If possible, can you introdue me more as i have no idea about it. Another question, do i need to write code or just buy a certificate?
    Many thanks.

Without more detailed direction, you'll need to rummage a bit.

You can start here, with this being the most likely for code signing, and this being a good starting point for SSL.

You really need to "go back to the well" for better direction on what he wants, otherwise you'll be fishing a long time on this request!

-PatP