Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    Unanswered: what should I do to connect SQL server to my computer (was "New to SQL")

    I'm new to programing things, i'm on my own with MCAD/MCSD Amid Calani, i came to the point were i can"t go any further: i have VS enteprise architect,but i have only instece of SQL server,recently i downloaded SQLExpress , what should i do to connect SQL server to my computer, just because i'm new to to it looks stupid but maybe someone can HELP me with this. HELP, HEL,SOS,SOS...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506
    Quote Originally Posted by OYuM
    I'm new to programing things, i'm on my own with MCAD/MCSD Amid Calani, i came to the point were i can"t go any further: i have VS enteprise architect,but i have only instece of SQL server,recently i downloaded SQLExpress , what should i do to connect SQL server to my computer, just because i'm new to to it looks stupid but maybe someone can HELP me with this. HELP, HEL,SOS,SOS...
    Download the SQL SERVER MANAGEMENT STUDIO EXPRESS CTP.Then you can easily do anything that you want.And yes,download the readme.txt file also.
    Joydeep

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    thx, i'll do it!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    Cannot open database "Northwind" requested by login. The login failed.
    error 4060.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    Cannot open database "Northwind" requested by login. The login failed.
    error 4060.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506
    Quote Originally Posted by OYuM
    Cannot open database "Northwind" requested by login. The login failed.
    error 4060.
    I think SQL SERVER 2005 express edition doesn't have northwind database.Plz download management studio express .Then you can see all the databases.There is no northwind,pubs databases in express .
    Joydeep

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    thx, i'll do that! how much more i need to download to finish it up?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506
    Quote Originally Posted by OYuM
    thx, i'll do that! how much more i need to download to finish it up?
    All the database means -4 system databases
    1.Master
    2.Model
    3.msdb
    4.tempdb
    There is no northwind or pub database in sql server 2005 express edition.
    Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
    - Sir Winston Churchill
    Joydeep

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    lol,lol, thx!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    i can see, There is no northwind or pub database in sql server 2005 express edition. What database i can use to replase Northwind

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    523
    Quote Originally Posted by OYuM
    i can see, There is no northwind or pub database in sql server 2005 express edition. What database i can use to replase Northwind


    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    Although these sample databases will work with SQL Server 2005, the AdventureWorks sample database is recommended for use with SQL Server 2005 and SQL Server 2005 Express Edition.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19
    thx, i see Northwind, i'll try to work with it!....! I think it's not over.........it jast started!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    Angry more to it..........SQL

    VS i use is 2003, SQL\express is 2005, can it be a .... problem?
    Can't get Northwind workig

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506
    Quote Originally Posted by OYuM
    VS i use is 2003, SQL\express is 2005, can it be a .... problem?
    Can't get Northwind workig
    do you have sql server 2000 databases,i mean those two testing databases northwind and pubs?
    If yes ,then just open the Microsoft SQL SERVER MAnagement Studio Express,right click on the database node,select attach and then browse the folder of sql server 2000 's data,select northwind and click yes.
    This will attach the northwind database with sql server 2005 express.
    And there will be no problem with VS 2003 .I am having it and its working just fine.
    I hope your confusions are over.
    Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
    - Sir Winston Churchill
    Joydeep

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    that's easy!

    thx!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •