Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Question Unanswered: Searching by subform

    Hi guys I have two subforms bound to one main form and I am trying to get it to where the users can search by subform as well as the main form does anyone have any idea how I can do that??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    107
    can u elaborate a bit more .. means how should ur search look like .. specific fields, RMB-Menu etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Cool Ok let me elaborate

    In the picture below you see a main form and a tabcontrol with two subforms on it, what I would like to do is make is so the users can search by First Name or Last Name which resides in the (Subject Subform). right now I'm using the Find And Replace command button microsoft provides but that doesnt seach by subforms as well as the mainform. I want to provide a search with different options basically and have the results appear in the form just as they would with the Find and Replace Search. Does that make sense?? the primary table is the Reports table(Incident Reports) which has the Subject and Victim as the child tables. any ideas on how to do this??
    Last edited by desireemm; 04-15-09 at 17:23.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Cool Ok let me elaborate

    In the picture below you see a main form and a tabcontrol with two subforms on it, what I would like to do is make is so the users can search by First Name or Last Name which resides in the (Subject Subform). right now I'm using the Find And Replace command button microsoft provides but that doesnt seach by subforms as well as the mainform. I want to provide a search with different options basically and have the results appear in the form just as they would with the Find and Replace Search. Does that make sense?? the primary table is the Reports table(Incident Reports) which has the Subject and Victim as the child tables. any ideas on how to do this??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Nevermind

    Nevermind I had to unlink the child table from the main form, I didnt want to but thats what I had to do

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    107
    sorry .. was da*n busy this week. if u still need support i can check nxt wk.

    rgds
    bachatero

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Thank you

    Thanks bachatero I appreciate it, I dont suppose you know of where I can find information on how to create your own Search forms like the find and replace Microsoft puts in access and all their apps. I would like to create something that looks up data for my users without the find and replace options

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •