Question Unanswered: Database Maintenance Plans

Hello everyone,
    I'm new to DB Maint Plans, so let me apologize upfront. I've taken over a system from a DBA who is no longer working here, and he set up Maint Plans for all of the existing DBs. The plans show up in the Enterprise Manager under "Management->Database Maintenance Plans" like they should, but there are also entries in the "Management->SQL Server Agent->Jobs" area. When I set up a new DB Maint Plan for a new DB, it seems to be working fine, but I don't have any corresponding entries in Jobs. Did the other DBA set these up manually? Does anyone know why he might have done this? Is it needed? The jobs and job steps look like the following:

[DBName]Full:
    EXECUTE master.dbo.xp_sqlmaint N'-PlanID 33C423D0-CC31-40BD-A357-7DCCAB1DC262 -WriteHistory -VrfyBackup -BkUpMedia DISK -BkUpDB "W:\sqldata\MSSQL$P001\Backup" -DelBkUps 1WEEKS -CrBkSubDir -BkExt "BAK"'

[DBName]Maint Integrity Checks:
    EXECUTE master.dbo.xp_sqlmaint N'-PlanID 33C423D0-CC31-40BD-A357-7DCCAB1DC262 -WriteHistory -CkDB '

[DBName]Maint Optimizations:
    EXECUTE master.dbo.xp_sqlmaint N'-PlanID 33C423D0-CC31-40BD-A357-7DCCAB1DC262 -WriteHistory -RebldIdx 10 -RmUnusedSpace 50 10 '

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance,
    Cat

Provided Answers: 1
    When you set up a plan, it should set up a job. In Enterprise Manager folders window, right-click on Jobs and select "Refresh". I'm betting the GUI just isn't aware of the change you made...
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Provided Answers: 54
    I would suggest that you start with BOL for Database Maintenance Plans, and go from there.

-PatP

Quote Originally Posted by blindman