Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,074

    Unanswered: Bind Variables in tkprof

    How do you get the bind variable values to show up in tkprof? They are in the trc file, but I can't find an option that causes them to display in tkprof. Otherwise I just see the :a1 in the output.

    -Chuck

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    exec dbms_support.start_trace_in_session(10,20,waits=>t rue,binds=>true);
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    Anacedent, that throws the binds into the TKPROF report or just the trace?
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,074
    I used dbms_monitor, and I can see that the bind variables are in the raw trace file already. I want them to show up in tkprof, though. THat's what I can't figure out.

    -cf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    I always goto the trace file.
    I have not found a solution to get the binds into tkprof.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Bind variables in tkprof

    Chuck,
    you can get the bind variables reported if you use the Trace Analyzer product instead of tkprof.

    It's downloadable from Metalink.

    Regards

    Tony Berrington

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,074
    We've purchased the Profiler from Hotsos, and that also displays the bind variables. It was just not showing all of the bind variables. It turns out that a configuration file needed to be updated in order for them to start displaying. It's a pretty impressive trc file formatter.

    Before I discovered that, I wanted to see if tkprof would show the values as I thought they weren't present for all queries in the trc file. I am not advanced enough to pull the raw tracefile apart and get the bind variables out, yet.

    -cf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Green with envy

    I wish someone would buy me a Hotsos Profiler.

    In the absence of that, I did manage to make headway by exploiting the Trace Analyzer repository. Using SQL to get an overview and then drill down as required.

    Unfortunately the latest version uses Global Temporary Tables instead of permanent storage. So my strategy is a dead end from 10G onwards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •