Unanswered: can I use asp and ODBC driver to connect to MySql database

I'm totally new to programming and could really do with some help, I just migrated my access db to mysql and I'm trying to figure out how change my connections and code for mysql, I was told that I would have to use php, but I also read that it can be done with asp using an ODBC driver which I have installed on my server. If I use the ODBC driver would I be able use the same SQL that I used to connect to the access DB? what other issues would there be?

Provided Answers: 59
    although I have never used MySQL in ASP I can see no reason why you can't use it.

I'm not sure that you will neccesarily be able to use the same SQL as you used in JET - there are differences bewteen all implementations of SQL, JET is probably more quirky than most.

the main area you are liable to hit problems is in string matching, wildcards and string delimiters.

just switching to MySQL (or any server is going to give a significant performance enhancement, to get the best you need to optimise your SQL to meet the servers requirements. With the introduction of V5 MySQL (and its support for stroed procedures, functions and triggers) there is little to distinguish it from db's like SQL server). If you have Version 5 of mYSQL then you should consider shifting mopst if not all of your SQL into the db as stored procs/functions.

HTH
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks for the reply healdem, I had a few problems with it but I eventually got it, only needed to make minor changes to the code. I'm really jumping in at the deep end here because I know very little about asp, sql, and databases, so I'm learning as I go.
    I tried around 7 different odbc connections, this is the one that worked (just in case someone else is trying to do it)

Code:
    <%  @LANGUAGE = VBScript %>
    <% Option Explicit %>
    <% 
    Dim sConnection, objConn , objRS