Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Exception Handling

Here's something that surprised me. I was playing around some more with EXCEPTION handling and using the WHEN OTHERS clause. Up until today, I thought every exception handler, when it existed in your code, had to have a WHEN OTHERS clause:

Code:
    declare
      num number;
    begin
      begin
        select 1 into num from (select 1 from dual union all select 1 from dual);
      exception 
        WHEN TOO_MANY_ROWS THEN
          null;
        WHEN OTHERS THEN
          raise;
      end;
    end;
    And when I started playing around the code it was working as expected:

Code:
    SQL> create table test_rollback (f1 varchar2(50));

Table created.

SQL> ed
    Wrote file afiedt.buf

1  declare
      2    num number;
      3  begin
      4    begin
      5      insert into test_rollback values ('roll me back');
      6      select 1 into num from (select 1 from dual union all select 1 from dual);
      7      dbms_output.put_line('no error');
      8    exception
      9      WHEN TOO_MANY_ROWS THEN
     10        null;
     11    end;
     12* end;
    SQL> /

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

SQL> select * from test_rollback;

F1
    --------------------------------------------------
    roll me back
    but when I forced another error, and omitted the WHEN OTHERS clause, I received a rollback in the code. Has it always worked this way?

Code:
    SQL> rollback;

Rollback complete.

no rows selected

SQL> ed
    Wrote file afiedt.buf

1  declare
      2    num number;
      3  begin
      4    begin
      5      insert into test_rollback values ('roll me back');
      6      num := 1/0;
      7      select 1 into num from (select 1 from dual union all select 1 from dual);
      8    exception
      9      WHEN TOO_MANY_ROWS THEN
     10        null;
     11    end;
     12* end;
    SQL> /
    declare
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01476: divisor is equal to zero
    ORA-06512: at line 6