Unanswered: Understanding how Foreign Keys work

Hello All!

I'm very new to DB programming and want to do things correctly. So, I've decided to study the correct way to build a relational database.

I've studied some stuff on line so I understand the concept of and reason for nomalized forms 1, 2 and 3.

But I'm having a problem understanding how foreign keys work in child tables - wether they dynamically link data to/from parent tables, or if they're just static indexes to those tables.

I'm eager to study this whole process, but I'm on a very thin dime in the Philippines (I'm an American expat) and would like to request from anyone a link to a good site which would explain the functionality of foreign keys IN A VERY SIMPLE AND UNDERSTANDABLE WAY for a neophyte such as my self.

Would greatly appreciate any and all guidance on this topic.

Thanks to all in advance!

Expatriate

foreign keys in a nutshell

- parent table contains primary key
    - child table contains foreign key
    - the "link" is by value
    - dbms ensures that every value inserted into foreign key already exists in primary key
    - dbms also ensures primary key updates or deletes are handled according to specified rules (restrict, set null, and cascade are common options)

that's pretty much all there is to it

any questions?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Boy, do I have questions!

I understand what is suppose to happen (as you've outlined) conceptually, but I don't understand HOW it works.

Here's a brief overview of what I'm doing:

I've got a "Room Categories" table. In it, there are 3 fields:

1) "categoryID" tinyint, autoincrement (PK)
    2) "roomCategory" varchar (15) - a room category would be "standard, deluxe, family, or penthouse"
    3) "roomDescription" varchar (255)

Note: this table will only contain 4 rows; each row will have one of 4 possible "categoryID" values: 1, 2, 3 or 4.