White space in table names

Hi all

I recently joined in a term and working on an ASP.NET project. I found the table names and column names in the database are having white spaces and I tried persuade the person who originally designed it to remove all the white spaces and using PascalCaseing, and it seemed to be hard to make her changing her idea. I am a newbie to database design, too, so I couldn't tell much about why white space is bad except it look ugly and no one have it. Is there any one having better idea?

The database now is on MS SQL server 2000, and we want it to be portable to Oracle and mysql( Oracle is a must ). This is a new database, only used by our project, and we have full control of it. We have already been working on it for nearly a year, and probably taking another year to complete, it has about 80 tables in database at moment, and we need add some more.

And another question: I having some primary keys in some table which I want them to be globally Unique. Is it a good idea to use GUID? Is there any problem with Oracle or MySql? Or I should use some different?

Thanks

Using whitespace in table names in Oracle is a poor idea. It can be done, but only if you always enclose the table name in double quotes like this:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE "Daft Table Name" ("Silly Column Name" INTEGER);
    INSERT INTO "Daft Table Name" ("Silly Column Name") VALUES (123);
    SELECT "Silly Column Name" FROM "Daft Table Name";
    Also, once you start enclosing Oracle identifiers in quotes, they become case sensitive, so the following select would fail:
    Code:
    SELECT "silly column name" FROM "daft table name";
    The usual Oracle convention for identifiers is to use underscores between words like this:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE good_table_name (good_column_name INTEGER);
    Now the identifiers are not case-sensitive, so any of the following will work:
    Code:
    select good_column_name from good_table_name;