Unanswered: How do I get my foot into the Oracle door?

Hi,

I'm a SW professional w/ many years' experience as a UNIX and Windows Admin, and before that developing vertical applications in a laboratory. I'm personally familiar w/ all phases of the SW life cycle.
    Recently I've taken Oracle courses for:
    DB Design also SQL Fundamentals - Both were old hat from my MS in SW.
    Also DBA 10g OCA and OCP courses. (I passed the OCA test, no OCP try yet.)
    Very recently I also completed a 10 week university course on PL/SQL - also very familiar to the SW I used for years - where I used an ANSI STD SQL engine to do the DDL & DML and the cascading deletes and more the hard way.
    I'm against a wall. Either companies promote from w/in or hire an outside expert. I would welcome either a DBA or a Developer position.
    Do I get blatant and sell myself REAL cheap? I want my entry more than the money now. I've even looked unsuccessfully for volunteer jobs.
    Any clues/suggestions anybody?

I live in the north Seattle area.

Thank you.
    Ralph

Cool

The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

get into a company with a large Oracle DBA department.
    Then transfer internally into the DBA or development group.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

I say put your resume out there and apply for jobs. Go on as many interviews as you can - even though you don't have the relevant experience, I think you'd be surprised at how many people will at least give you an hour of their time to talk to.

Go in with confidence that you can do a good job if given the chance. When the experience question comes up, come back with a response along the lines of:
    "How exactly do you propose I get relevant experience if you are not willing to give me a shot?"