Unanswered: Free-standing DB Program

I was wondering if someone could help me.

I'm a novice in the DB world, but I've been asked to find out how to build a DB program for a clinic I work in. Preferrably, once the DB is created, the clinic would like to be able to open it as a free-standing program.

I've been able to build a form in Microsoft Access that has the type of layout I'm looking for, but it's limited because they would like some of the fields to be able to handle paragraphs - as far as I can tell Access doesn't let you do that. Also, I'm unsure if you can make the form a free-standing program that does not need to be opened thru Access.

If anyone can help me, I'd appreciate it. I know I may sound a little confused, but the fact is I am, so I apologize in advance.

Thanks
    Cavy

Provided Answers: 1
    MS Access' Memo datatype can handle paragraphs, and is unlimited in length. Be aware that you cannot do as much text manipulation on memo columns as other datatypes.

For more Access-specific questions, post in the Access forum.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Provided Answers: 54
    The MS-Access Runtime sounds like what you're looking for to get your Access code into a free standing program.

I'll let the MS-Access gurus offer more advice on the how side of getting Access to do what you want. I'm moving this thread from Chit Chat into the MS-Access forum so that they'll see it, and hopefully jump in!

-PatP

Quote Originally Posted by blindman
    MS Access' Memo datatype can handle paragraphs, and is unlimited in length. Be aware that you cannot do as much text manipulation on memo columns as other datatypes.

For more Access-specific questions, post in the Access forum.
    The memo field is not unlimited in length. It has a limit of 64k (65536 bytes).