Unanswered: Troubleshooting a Corrupt Uninstall of SQL Server

Hi --

I am a new user of SQL Server, Enterprise Manager, and Reporting Services (all three are installed on my comptuer) and have a problem. Please bear with me, I am very new at this and don't know all the correct terminology!

Someone in our IT group "discovered" that I had two "instances" of SQL on my machine. The way he came to this was that I was trying to use the "." to connect to my local machine in Query Analyzer and it wasn't pulling the databases I had saved to my computer, it was looking in another folder LOCALDB (a subset of my computer's name). He was unsure how to move all of my databases on my comptuer to that LOCALDB folder so he uninstalled the "LOCALDB" entry from the Add/Remove Programs screen to fix this. He said "No to All" when it prompted him to remove shared entries.

Consequently, when I load Enterprise Manager now, I get the "Snap-In failed to initialize" message. I also do not have any SQL Server options in my Start Menu Anymore. Query Analyzer still exists, though, I had saved a shortcut to my taskbar and I can still launch it from there. He is saying all I need is to re-install the "Client Tools" folder from the CD and that will fix the problem. I am skeptical, since it appears to be a larger issue (SQL isn't in my Start Menu anymore!).

I am sure that my SQL install is probably completely corrupt. I would like to return to full functionality of SQL Server, Enterprise Manager, and MRS as soon as possible. Can anyone begin to advise me on how to do so?

I really do appreciate your help in advance.
    jzafereo

Do you have a service called MSSQL or something like that in your Service Manager ?
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

Provided Answers: 54