Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: Unbound Forms in Countinuous form view

    [Wrong phrasing] Hi, how can I create an unbound form which will be displayed in continuous form view?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.


    ================================================== ==================

    [Rephrase]
    How do I populate an unbound form with data from the database and then display it in continuous form view
    Last edited by scripts82; 04-16-06 at 21:47.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Well you just select that setting ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    136
    Don't know if you figured it out yet, but you have to open the properties for the form and in the All tab look for Default View and select Continuous from the list.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi, maybe I phrased my question wrongly...

    what I meant is how do I populate an unbound form with data from the database and then display it in continuous form view.

    So far, I have only managed to populate the form in single form view.

    Any help is greatly appreciated

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by scripts82
    Hi, maybe I phrased my question wrongly...

    what I meant is how do I populate an unbound form with data from the database and then display it in continuous form view.

    So far, I have only managed to populate the form in single form view.

    Any help is greatly appreciated
    HI scripts82,

    It's all in how you set up your Tables, and the Relationships between them. Then you construct a Query that uses both tables which will more than likely be a One-To-Many Relationship. Then you base your Form/SubForm on that query and your SubForm will have the ForeignKey that ties it to the MainForm. That will be your linking fields.
    It's like this: One Table named Orders and one named Vendors. One-To-Many Relationship would be VendorsID as the PrimaryKey in the Vendors table and the VendorsID as the ForeignKey in the Orders Table as one Vendor can have Many Orders. That should get you on your way.

    have a nice one,
    BUD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi bud,

    That's still not what I meant.
    Let me explain my problem.

    I am using MS Access as the front end to connect to MS SQL server.
    I have a form that will pull data from a view (vwMyData) on MS SQL Server.

    My issue here is this:
    All along, I have been using bound forms. This makes data pulling very simple as MS Access handles it for me.

    However, what I need now is to NOT use a Bound Form. This will mean that I will need to load the data from vwMyData into the form at runtime.

    This is easily done if I am using a single form view. The problem now is I need to view the data in continuous form view.
    So, my question now is how can this be achieved?
    i.e. how can I use an UNBOUND Form that will display all the data from vwMyData in a continuous form view.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    441
    "i.e. how can I use an UNBOUND Form that will display all the data from vwMyData in a continuous form view." - as far as I know, you can't. You will need to use some kind of binding, but you can do it at runtime.

    What is this binding, then? In my eyes, it means every controlsources of every control contains the name of a field in the recordsource of the form. The recordsource of the form can be either permanently assigned (property dialog), through assigning a table, query or sql string dynamicly (me.recordsource = <your sql, table, query ...>), or you can assign recordset. If I've forgotten, something, please chime in.

    For recordsets, check out the following two links
    (2002/2003) http://support.microsoft.com/kb/281998/EN-US/
    (2000) http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;227053

    I haven't tried it for continuous forms, though.
    Roy-Vidar

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi Roy-Vidar,

    Yep I get what you mean. Looks like I will need to look at other options...

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •