Unanswered: has anyone tried 10g database express?

hi
    I am new to oracle. Here is a question relates to connection string:

There is a sample database when oracle is installed. I put this connection
    string to my c# code. "user id=hr;password=hr;data source=????"; I am
    not sure what should be inserted into the data source. Is data source ==
    the name of database, which is "hr"?

confused here
    figo2476

Use whatever connection descriptor is in your tnsnames.ora file for that database.

If you can connect through sqlplus using sqlplus hr/hr@hr then your connect string in c# will be:

"User Id=hr;Password=hr;Data Source=hr";

thx for the reply.

When I configure the net manager using the wizard, I have some questions.

stage1:
    It says net service name. What should I put there? hr.com? localhost?

stage2:
    Should I pick tcp/ip? In fact, I install both oracle database server & the client software in my computer. Should I pick IPC?

stage3:
    Suppose I pick tcp/ip? What should I fill for the 1st row (it means "your computer" to me)? So I put down the name of my computer, correct?

stage4:
    I need to provide the name of service. What should I do? Put down "hr" again?

stage5:
    Need to test the connection.......

Quote Originally Posted by SkyWriter
    Use whatever connection descriptor is in your tnsnames.ora file for that database.

If you can connect through sqlplus using sqlplus hr/hr@hr then your connect string in c# will be:

"User Id=hr;Password=hr;Data Source=hr";