Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: How the heck can I get this into an Access database

I want to import the following type of file into an Access database but am struggling, all self-taught or self bumbled (delete as appropriate!!)

I have a file attached which lists company data...

What I want to do is to import into an Access database whereby....

Each line that starts with an * is a new field

and each record is broken out by the *01 E field.

In the attached I would therefore have 2 records with 34 fields per record.

Has anyone got any clue how I could start to approach this?

Many thanks for your help.

Jessica
    Attached Files Attached Files
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

Provided Answers: 59
    I think a vb function to import the data may be more appropriate

the reason: you have a variable number of data sentances, and a variable content

some of the data may need to be normalised

I'd suggest the function read the text file then do whatver vlaidation you have to, and write to waht ever table(s) your physical design requires.

HTH
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thanks Mark, beyoud my scope of understanding so I'll go away and scratch my head.
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk

It looks like you're trying to reinvent XML. Where did you get your data file? If you have the time, do this. Make a new table in access that contains one record of your data. Save the table, blah,blah,blah. Rght click on the new table icon on the database manager and select export. Xport the table as XML. Once you see what is happening, you can probably do a find/replace to your existing data to add the XML tags.

Hi