Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    102

    Unanswered: Package cache dumped error

    Hi All

    I am getting few errors pretty often...Please help me understand them....


    2006-04-12-14.47.11.466000-360 E21450122H586 LEVEL: Error

    PID : 2200 TID : 3272 PROC : db2syscs.exe

    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000 DB : XYZDB

    APPHDL : 0-136 APPID: *LOCAL.DB2.060412063715

    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, routine_infrastructure, sqlerGetFMPIPC, probe:70

    MESSAGE : ADM11002E Insufficient shared memory available for communication with the db2fmp process. Use the DB2_FMP_COMM_HEAPSZ registry variable to increase the amount of shared memory available for fenced routines.


    How can update the value of DB2_FMP_COMM_HEAPSZ??

    Also I am getting Package Cache dumped errors...do I need to increase my Package cache which is MAXAPPLS * 8 and the MAXAPPLS is set as AUTOMATIC....

    Enviornment

    Windows XP
    DB2 UDB v 8.1
    Fixpak 7

    will appreciate help!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    You use db2set to set DB2_FMP_COMM_HEAPSZ. Once you set this, you will need to bounce the instance (db2stop/db2start). Yes, you should set pckcachesz to some value if you are getting those errors.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Is this SQL error ?

    Are there any db2dlag.log messages associated with this error ?


    Also I am getting Package Cache dumped errors...do I need to increase my Package cache which is MAXAPPLS * 8 and the MAXAPPLS is set as AUTOMATIC....
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    102
    No this is not a SQL error....I picked up these errors from db2diag.log....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by anksagr
    Windows XP
    DB2 UDB v 8.1
    Fixpak 7

    will appreciate help!!!!
    Upgrade to FP11
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    343
    connect to the database and issue

    get db cfg for <dbname> show detail

    If maxappls does not show an initial value, eg

    AUTOMATIC(1200)

    where 1200 is the init value and it's automatic beyond.

    Then update the config and set an initial value, for eg 100 and then set it to automatic. deactivate and activate the database. If you continue to receive the error, try increasing this number a little at a time.

    HTH.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    102
    Thanks everybody, this is actually a quality Audit that I am doing for the first time for one of the servers. SO can't change the values right now, but i am sure all these can act as recommendations...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •