Unanswered: Report doesnt get cancelled by clicking

Hi all,
    I have a very simple question regarding access report.
    I have a report thats attached to a parameter query. If i dont enter any data and click cancel on the report button it prints the face of my form that has a focus.
    Intead I want this report to not print anything if i were to click the cancel button.
    Any help would be nice,
    Thanks

Provided Answers: 1
    roll your own parameter form and don't call the report until you've received valid values for your desired arguments.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Can be kind and tell me in more of easy steps. I am new to access and trying to learn it.
    Thanks again

Provided Answers: 59
    might be worth looking at the reports 'nodata' event

in the forms design panel, View | Code and look for the form OnNoData event

highlight the nodata part of the function defintion and press the help key to provide more details of what you can do in this event.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thats not what i meant so let me explain a bit more in depth
    I have a report thats attached to a parameter query where parameters are entered by the user at run time into the default pop up box but if i dont type anything and click cancel it prints the face of a main form that has a focus.

How can I prevent if from printing when i am clicking cancel and not entering any data.

Provided Answers: 59
    what are you doing with the cancel event
    what code are you executing with the cancel
    how are yiou painting the cancel button, are you using a message box
    how do you invoke the report print, and how do you handle null parameters
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Never mind i figured it out!
    Thanks

you dont tell us what you were doing or how you fixed it - but at least you are happy.