Unanswered: Medical Database Question

Good morning. I'm new to Access, (I’m using Access 2003) but have been thrown into developing a database system. Although I've done a bit and have the basic format set, my boss has just asked me to do something a bit more complex. In particular, I’m work on a medical database and need to create a variable called “follow-up” that is based on other fields.

Specifically, “Follow-up” is defined as:

1). Time to biochemical failure. Biochemical failure can be one of three things:

a) Date where there was any value over 0.2 on a blood serum test (Prostate Specific Antigen test). I have a separate table that links PSA values to specific dates and patients.
    b) Date where there two consecutive values of exactly 0.2 on the PSA test
    c) Date where there are any value over 0.0 occurring 6 months after either hormonal or radiation therapy. I have two fields for “date when hormone treatment started” and “date when radiation therapy started.”

2). If there is no biochemical failure, the date of the most recent PSA test

The “follow-up” variable would indicate the number of months between the date of surgery (“DOS” variable) and the “follow-up” criteria listed above.

I’m thinking that I can build an update query, but I am having trouble conceptualizing how to do so. Any advice/direction would be greatly appreciated.

New York State
    Hello, clarkjim,

I think you're on the right track, wanting to do it with an update query. However, your criteria are so complex, if you do it with pure SQL it'll be next to impossible to maintain.

By the way, you didn't mention this point, but I understand that if the last PSA test was AFTER biochemical failure, the operative date in that case would be the test date. Whether right or wrong, it's something that has to be considered and programmed for.