Red face Unanswered: export more than 65K rows to excel (was "Plese help....i am in difficulty")

Hi...
    I am new to MS SQL 2000. I need to generate reports using the SQL2000 database and exporting the data to Excel. Currently i started using the DTS services and was fine..But i have constraints that Excel can hold only 65K records..My records can go up to 80K +.Is there a way i can split the sheet depending the number of records..or is there a better way to do this...I do not have reporting services as we r using SQL 2000...Could anyone please help...

If there is any other way of doing this please guide me as to how to go about or any reference websites...

Thanks in advance
    Banu

Why don't you use the text file directly in the DTS to import into SQL server.

http://www.sqldts.com/default.aspx?258 is a good resource to know more about DTS in addition to the Books online.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Hi
    But the customer needs the report in Excel format and not in Text format...THe records are mroe than 65536 ...

Banu

Provided Answers: 1
    Your customer is an idiot. Get a new one.

You could load the data into a temporary table, export the first TOP 65K to one file, and then the remainder to a second file.

If you are looking for a way to autmatically split it into two files, no, I don't think so. You will have to write code to do this.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Hi blindman...