Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Problem with combo box!

    Hey guys

    I have a combo box, the combo box is used by the user to select a product and when it is selected it shows a product and relates its data to two other fields on the form, corresponding to whatever product is chosen out of the dropdown box. Problem is i cant get data to show in the two fields i need it to, the drop down box works fine but the two fields just stay blank and dont get updated.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks so much, Craig

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    47
    Did you try a me.refresh after they select a product?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    144

    Talking sample for you

    here is an sample of what you are talking about
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    47
    Sorry, I always mix up requery and refresh.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    1,178
    Quote Originally Posted by Nillskill
    Hey guys

    I have a combo box, the combo box is used by the user to select a product and when it is selected it shows a product and relates its data to two other fields on the form, corresponding to whatever product is chosen out of the dropdown box. Problem is i cant get data to show in the two fields i need it to, the drop down box works fine but the two fields just stay blank and dont get updated.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks so much, Craig
    Sorry to p-- on your parade, but it's impossible to tell what's wrong without seeing the entire picture. Would you please be so kind as to zip your database and upload it here. There are so many variables - no pun intended - that the problem could be in your form, VBA, or combo box properties. By the way, what version of Access are you using? Are you getting any error messages?

    Sam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    148
    ODaniels,

    I got stuck on the combox strange behavior which somehow holds on to the very first value of the first chosen record. That is, it will provide the SAME choice to all the other record. I have spent 5 hours on it and could not find out how to make the combo box release its memory.

    Your me.refresh has solved my combox problem.

    Thank you

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Nice two year bump!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    148
    Hello StarTrekker. Nice to know you are well.

    Sweetmail

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    And very nice to see you again Sweetmail
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •