Thread: DATABASE NewBie

Question Unanswered: DATABASE NewBie

Hey all

I want to create a username and password form that is able to have a dropdown menu with Usernames, the users will pick their user and then type their own password and with the right credentials they move on to the next form if the password is typed incorrectly 3 times you will be forcefully exited!

now right now i'm using Access to make my database but if needed to move to sql or VB to create something like that you'll have to help me cause i am really new to the database creation avenue!!!

Your help is much appreciated.

Oh and another thing i want to be able to do is to make my own autonumber that has 3 Alphabets and three numbers that will increment on its own using the first 3 letters of the name and then the number that is available 001 002 and so on
    Last edited by breakit; 05-05-06 at 06:28.

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    if you want to select form a list of users, then get them to enter their password, then there is no way round it, you are going to have to get your fingers durty with some vb code.

There are some alternatives to your design methodology, and that would be to pick up the users network logon - try doign a search for network logons int he access forum for more details.